Show All Answers
Permits are mainly about safety. By enforcing construction standards, they give you and the other occupants of the building the best chance to avoid fire, structural failure or something as simple as a child getting his head caught between stair posts. If you decide to move, the permit process also protects future owners. Bottom line, we want to help protect you and yours.
The first reason to obtain a building permit is that it's illegal not to. If you fail to get a permit for work that requires it, you can be fined. You may be forced to remove a building or tear out completed work. But there are plenty of positive reasons for following the permit process as well, just a few reasons are listed below:
If you are the homeowner, you do not need a state license. If you are not the homeowner and the project is $30,000 or more, you will need a North Carolina state license to permit (GS 87-1). Visit North Carolina Licensing Board for General Contractors.
The Online Permitting Services allows citizens to track permits in a convenient way any time of day. It also allows a registered contractor to request permits, schedule inspections as well as check results as they are posted. A new feature added recently allows a contractor to upload required documents directly to an issued permit. Access Public Information Search
All permit fees must be paid prior to permit issuance. Credit cards (MasterCard, Visa & Discoverer) are accepted for permit fees not over the amount of $1,500. If you are a registered contractor, you may pay online.* If you are not registered online, you may call our front desk at 919-557-3915 to pay over the phone by credit card, or you can pay at the Building Code window at Town Hall.* *Checks are required for permits over $1,500.
HVAC (Trade) Permit is required for the installation, extension, relocation, replacement and general repair of any heating, air-conditioning or venting system.
Bills are due by the 25th of each month to avoid a $10 penalty. If you do not pay your bill by the 25th, you incur the $10 late charge. You have until the 15th of the following month to pay at least the previous month's bill to avoid disconnection of service and a $35 penalty.
Pay online, over the phone, in person at Town Hall, by bank draft, or by mail. View more information at the Payment Options section of our website.
To start your residential water, sewer, trash, recycling and yard waste services with the Town of Holly Springs, fill out a utility application and submit it to customer service to be processed. If a deposit is required, we will call you to collect the deposit by credit card once the application is processed. If you are buying a home and can provide us with an intent to purchase or the first page of your closing disclosure, we will waive the deposit.
Yes, additional cans can be delivered to your home. There is no fee for delivery, but you will incur the additional monthly charge on your water bill of $9.69 per trash can and $4.34 per recycling bin. Call Finance at (919) 557-3925, press option 2, to have additional cans delivered.
Call Public Works at (919) 552-5920. Staff will visit your property, evaluate the items that need to be collected, and leave a door tag noting how much the collection will cost. You can then visit Town Hall at 128 South Main Street and pay in person, or call (919) 557-3925, press option 9, to pay over the phone by credit card. We can't add this fee to your utility bill; it must be paid prior to collection.
Yes, if you've had utility service with the Town of Holly Springs for at least 12 months, you are eligible for a one-time per 12 months waiver of a utility bill late fee. Fill out the online form within 30 days of when the penalty was assessed.
While the Fire Department no longer checks car seats, the Police Department does. By appointment only, arrange for assistance from a Holly Springs police officer certified to install and inspect child restraints and car seats. To schedule an appointment, please call (919) 577-3113.
Click here for a listing of Town facilities with links to their hours and additional information.
We offer three easy ways to purchase tickets. Tickets may be purchased in person at our box office located in the lobby of the Cultural Center. Click here for online purchases. To purchase tickets by telephone with a credit card, call the Cultural Center at (919) 567-4000.
All accessory structures such as sheds, decks, patios, garages, driveway expansions, etc. are subject to setback, height, and size restrictions specified in the Town of Holly Springs Unified Development Ordinance in addition to North Carolina State Building Code requirements.
A structure with any dimension less than or equal to 12 feet requires a Unified Development Ordinance Permit from the Department of Planning and Zoning. A building permit (residential | non-residential) from the Code Enforcement Department is required for any structure with any dimension greater than 12 feet. For electricity, an additional permit is required. Regardless of size, any deck or gazebo is required to obtain a permit from the Code Enforcement Department.
Click here for more information on the Planning Board and a list of current members.
For additional information regarding specific regulations and setback requirements or permits, please contact the Department of Planning & Zoning. Swimming pools, both above and in-ground, may be constructed on any lot with a single-family home. For information on setbacks and permits contact the Department of Planning & Zoning. Additional permits also may be required and obtained through the Department of Code Enforcement.
Click here to view the Unified Development Ordinance.
The Records Division is located at:
750 Holly Springs Road
Holly Springs, NC 27540
To obtain copies of incident and arrest reports contact (919) 552-7110. To obtain copies of accident reports visit the North Carolina Division of Motor Vehicles.
By appointment only, arrange for assistance from a Holly Springs police officer certified to install and inspect child restraints and car seats. To schedule an appointment, please call (919) 577-3113.
For residents: Properties that have reclaimed water available have two water meter boxes at the street. The potable water service has a standard gray metal-colored lid. The other meter box with a purple lid is for reclaimed water service.
For businesses and property owners along reclaimed water lines: To connect to the reclaimed water system, contact the Department of Public Works at (919) 552-5920 to arrange for an irrigation tap.
For developers building in the service area: For information about extending reclaimed water to your property, contact the Engineering Department at (919) 557-3938.
Grease from animal products (sausage, bacon, ground beef) can be collected in an old can or jar and thrown away in the garbage.