Citizen of the Year

Nominate Someone You Know

With a narrow window of one week, the Holly Springs Selection Committee is accepting nominations for the 2018 Citizen of the Year, to be named Oct. 27 at Holly Fest.  The deadline for nominations is Tuesday, Oct. 16.

The Citizen of the Year Award is given to a local resident whose service and dedication have made a significant contribution to the community.   The following criteria for the award have evolved since its inception in 1997:

  • The nominee must reside in Holly Springs or in the unincorporated area referenced on tax records as Holly Springs Township;
  • The nominee must have assisted in an improvement or program of significant value to the Holly Springs community;
  • The improvement must be made as a result of a personal commitment and not substantially as a result of the nominee’s primary employment or public responsibilities;
  • The nominee may not be a current elected or appointed government official;
  • The contributions of the nominee to the community should be of an extraordinary nature.

Nominations should be made on the online form that includes a space for a description of the person’s contributions to Holly Springs and why he or she is worthy of the honor.

This year, organizers of the program were delayed in opening the nominations, so time is running short.  The deadline to nominate someone for Citizen of the Year is 5 p.m. Tuesday, Oct 16.

The Town of Holly Springs Clerk’s office is assisting the Selection Committee coordinate an application process through the Town’s Web site and citizen notification system. The Town of Holly Springs does not otherwise participate in the selection of a Citizen of the Year.

The Selection Committee is made up of former COY honorees dating back to 1997:  Jason Kolesar, Christine Dickson, Peter Atwell, Barb Koblich, Marilyn and Chris Chappell, Dick Sears, Marianna and Ted Heim, Otis Byrd, Beth Arthur, Alex Guess, Thomas Tillage, Cynthia Ellison, Pete Morrison, Tony Perna, Larry O’Neal, Carol Moran, Sean Mayefskie, Mary Babbitt, Mark Campbell and Kelly O’Hara.